MP Supports Local Business

On Friday 27th January, Dame Anne Begg, MP for Aberdeen South, attended the official opening of Little Rembrandt’s Cafe at 126 Crown Street.

Little Rembrandt’s is owned by Ashlea Hassan who Dame Anne met in June last year when she highlighted the problems she was experiencing in trying to find a bank willing to lend to a start-up business. Ms Hassan had recognised a demand for a local meeting place serving good quality food in the Ferryhill area and, although many banks approved of her business plan, they were unwilling to provide a loan.

Dame Anne said: “I was disappointed that the banks were being slow to in invest in new businesses and I am so pleased that, against the odds, Little Rembrandt’s is now open. I know that this is as a result of Ashlea’s own determination to realise her vision and her aspiration to support her local community is admirable. She is a true entrepreneur.”

Ms Hassan said: “I am delighted that after all these months of uncertainty I have managed to stay true to my idea and at last see my cafe open.”

The ethos of the cafe is to support the surrounding community by offering locally sourced food and a meeting place for community groups. It also aims to be a family friendly place with space for children to paint whilst the adults chat.

