Dame Anne praises Royal Mail on Paralympics Gold Stamps

Dame Anne Begg, MP for Aberdeen South has welcomed Royal Mail’s decision to revise its position on gold medal stamps for ParlaympicsGB gold medallists.

Following the great success of TeamGB at the London 2012 Olympic Games, Royal Mail has now announced it will produce a stamp for each individual or team ParalympicsGB gold medal win.

This will be the first time ever any host country has issued Gold Medal stamps for their Paralympic winners. Royal Mail will also continue to paint gold one of its iconic red post boxes in the home town of every ParalympicGB gold medal winner.

Following the announcement Dame Anne said: “I am delighted that the offer from Royal Mail has been increased to enable individual stamps to celebrate each Paralympic athletes’ gold medal achievement. The stamps for Team GB’s gold medallists have been such an emblematic part of our celebrations during the Games. I am delighted that our Paralympic heroes will be given the same honour.”

The 2012 Paralympic Games begins Wednesday, 29 August 2012, and ends Sunday, 9 September 2012 and will be broadcast on Channel 4.