Dame Anne nominates constituent for national film competiton

Dame Anne Begg, MP for Aberdeen South, was delighted to put her support behind constituent Christian McKenna and his film Podium for the Parliamentary film competition FILM THE HOUSE.

FILM THE HOUSE is a national competition for budding UK film makers, directors and script writers that aims to raise political awareness of the importance of intellectual property to the film industry.

Mr McKenna’s entry will now be in the running for the national competition with the chance to have the film screened in the House of Commons in October. Speaking about his film, he said: “When I wrote this film, I was aiming to produce something that any sports person could relate to. As sport was a key part of 2012 with the Olympic in London taking place I felt that it would also be very relevant to the times.

“I am genuinely surprised on how far my short film has gone, I initially used it to pass my first year of college and was entering it to the competition mainly for feedback – due to it being my first film. However with the support from Dame Anne I am delighted on how the film has progressed through the competition and I am delighted to have reached the final stage.

“I look forward to seeing other people’s work in order to further develop myself.”

Throughout the past few months, members of the public have been entering their films to the competition and MPs have been nominating the best submissions from within their constituency. These will go on to be considered for the final award ceremony, at the House of Commons in October. Prizes include studio tours, work experience, and private screenings for friends and family.

Dame Anne said: “I am delighted to show my support for this fantastic initiative, and I am very proud to have the opportunity to be a part of showcasing some of the great talent from Aberdeen South.

“I thoroughly enjoyed Christian’s film which captures the excitement around competitive sport being felt by many at the moment and I want to wish him the best of luck in the competition.”

