Musicians and Film-makers Invited to Enter Competition

Dame Anne Begg MP is supporting musicians and film-makers from Aberdeen South by calling for local artists to enter Parliament’s two largest creative competitions, Rock the House and Film the House.

Founded by Mike Weatherley MP, the annual competitions offer the opportunity to put local musicians and film-makers in direct contact with the movers and shakers of the two industries, and to have the best of Aberdeen South’s talent take front and centre stage.

Last year, one of the films nominated by Dame Anne collected first place in the under 19 category. The film about ghost bullies was created by school children aged between 8 and 12 with support from the Belmont Cinema and North East Scotland College.

Dame Anne said: “I welcome the return of Parliament’s most-hotly contested competitions, and would urge all local musicians and film-makers to enter Rock the House and Film the House.

“In the past, Aberdeen South has seen two entries make it all the way to the final and I hope to continue this winning streak by encouraging as may local musicians and film-makers to submit entries this year.

“Rock the House and Film the House are excellent opportunities for Aberdeen South to celebrate our local talent and, as all nominations are judged by industry experts, there is no finer chance for our musicians and film-makers to gain exposure.”

Judged by the leading lights of industry, with prizes ranging from festival slots, studio time, top-notch equipment, and your work premiered in London’s West End, the Rock the House and Film the House competitions are a pioneering opportunity to showcase what Aberdeen South has to offer, raising awareness about the importance of Intellectual property (IP) to our creative industries and country.

Rock legend and actor, Alice Cooper said: “Rock the House is a great project which celebrates the fantastic diversity of the British music scene and gives musicians a vehicle through which to hold their legislators accountable about protecting the music industry’s intellectual property.”

The closing date for entries is 31st December and the winners will be announced on 18th March. For more information on how to enter Rock the House go to; and for Film the House